Analogue revived !

A worthy digital source!

Eastern Electric MiniMax DAC

Eastern Electric MiniMax DAC / JBL Horn Speakers

In the teaser photo: My modified Eastern Electric MiniMax Sabre32 DAC with RCA 210 tubes, transformer output, and Optocoupler / Light Dependent Resistor (LDR) Volume control. Used to drive all IT coupled 10 > 45 > GM70 monoblocks with Onetics Output transformers. Although my favorite music is from vinyl, this DAC sounds incredibly natural with 24/96 files.

3 responses

  1. Nicely done! I like the fi-style extension. Would love to find out more.

    January 5, 2011 at 4:05 am

  2. Hi Vincent,

    I just got done looking through your blog. WOW! Very cool stuff.

    This is it, right? http://vincentwong.posterous.com/

    OK, the stock Minimax DAC has a raw B+ of ~200V so I replaced the resistor in its CRC supply with a 10H choke. Using an OD3/VR150 as voltage regulator it gives a fast and quiet 150vdc on the plate of the 210 tubes. Bias is -1.5V AA battery on the grid. Signal is taken right after the Sabre32 chip. The Hammond 126C 10K:10K are a good load with the 210 tubes at around 15ma. I had to add a SMPS for filament, since the onboard heater supply can not handle the current that DHT demand.

    Finally, the volume control has been replaced with the optocoupler VC that you see in some of my schematics.

    I think you will have a lot of fun with this DAC! It is the first one that I have owned that I listen to more than vinyl. 24bit files really sound great. And thank you for sharing your nice blog. Someday I hope I will have time to make mine half as interesting.

    January 5, 2011 at 7:50 am

  3. Slobodan Lozina

    Hi,
    I have MiniMax DAC Plus,and I would love to modificate it like you did yours.
    Can you tell me is that possible and help me to do it?
    Maybe shematicaly by email.
    Thanks.

    March 17, 2013 at 8:25 am

Leave a Reply

